11755797_1198813113478967_7871945040691635966_n

Pete Scott is a Scottish Muay Thai fighter with a record of 13 fights, 10 wins (9 KO’s), three losses on points. He explains how he ended up living an fighting in Thailand. Muay Thai is not just a sport for the Thai, but a way of living.  

Pete Scott first started training Muay Thai just over 5 years ago around February 2010. That was the first time he came in contact with a fighting art. Other than an a few brawls at football games or in bars or clubs. ‘I played football all my life and played almost every day from around 5 years old until my early 20’s.’

‘At one point I was playing for a Saturday team and a Sunday team, along with 5-aside teams during the week with my friends. Sometimes I was playing a game of football every day and was hard going on my knees. I dislocated my knee when I was 16 and since then it’s never been the same so I got advised from my doctor to go easy on running and sprinting especially. It got to the stage where I was going into work limping because of playing football all the time so decided to play the game anymore for sometime.

During this time he would drink a lot. At the same time he was getting unfit because he wasn’t playing football.

‘I was getting unfit and gaining a bit of weight so decided I would have to do something to keep me fit and away from the alcohol.’

Being introduced in Mixed Martial Arts

‘I had went to watch one of my friends Keith Middleton fight Muay Thai on a couple of occasions and thought that it looked crazy and was straight away intrigued on how it would feel to step into the ring in front of hundreds of people and try knock someone out while they were doing the same to you.’ He asked his friend Keith about the training and it sounded like good fun. And kickboxing/muay thai keep you fit.

‘So I decided I would go along to training just to keep fit with no intention of fighting. The training was very hard work and hard on the body to.’

Train like the Thai

Luckily enough the club I was training at, Aberdeen Muay Thai (AMT) had a few fighters training there who had spent some time training and fighting in Thailand so the training at AMT was always done similar to how the Thais train in Thailand. This would benefit me further on when I did decide to step into the ring.’

73020_165605356799753_4686620_n

‘Like I said to start with I was just interested in the training and keeping fit. But it got to the stage where as I was progressing and then sparring with the fighters, AMT’s main coach Ronnie and the other fighters would tell me I should have a fight. I thought about it and then thought yeah why not, what’s the worst that can happen?’

A scary thought

He laughs: ‘well I must not have thought it through to carefully as quite a lot bad can happen when you step into the ring and fight with someone who’s trained how to fight properly and wanting to punch, kick, knee, and elbow your head off.’

Those are exactly the things that make a lot of people cancel their fights, because they feel unfit or ‘scared’, just not ready.

‘I had been training around 7 months when I had my first fight. I remember feeling calm and thinking to myself why am I not nervous? I felt calm and relaxed the whole time. The fight went really good, dominating it from the start and winning by 3rd round KO! I had my second fight a month after that also winning by round 3 KO. I won my next 2 fights by KO, before fighting a bigger stronger opponent from Ireland named Pat Hickey who was my first loss, beating me on points after a hard 5 rounds and getting my eye cut open with a knee to the head. I fought again shortly after that in London and lost on points getting my nose broken within a knee to the face this time. Being my record to 4 wins and 2 losses only 2 years after I first started training. After that fight I took some time off, ended up being 2 years before I fought again.’
1959654_986385411388406_7949765073687410668_n

Traveling, drinking and training.

In that 2 years he traveled in Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia. ‘I would still train a lot during my travels but I would drink even more. I have been lucky enough to train at gyms all over Thailand and even a lovely gym in Vietnam called Saigon Sports Club (SSC). I have met lots of great people and now lifelong friend through Muay Thai and travelling and training in different gyms. Some of my friends I met travelling who hadn’t trained Muay Thai before even came along and tried out Muay Thai with me, all loving the training and saying they will train again. My friend Martijn from Amsterdam even cut my head open when I thought him an elbow technique.’ This demonstrates how easy it can be to cut someone open if a beginner can do it. The elbow is incredibly hard and creates cuts on your face quite often under full Muay Thai rules.

11214254_10153400643375465_7990976427767900388_n

Working on an oil rig and training in Thailand

After his travels he went back to Aberdeen and started working offshore on the oil rigs in the North Sea, working 3 weeks then getting 3 weeks holiday. During his 3 weeks off he would continue with  training Muay Thai and trips back and fore to Thailand. When Pete was in Aberdeen he would train and fight out of Aberdeen Muay Thai, the club he started his training at. ‘My friend from school Chris Farman opened up his own martial arts gym while I was away travelling as he competed in MMA so I would train at his gym Aberdeen Combat Centre (ACC) also. In Thailand I would mainly train at KC Muay Thai gym in Chiang Mai and Sityodtong in Pattaya. I do believe that the more different gyms and different people you get to train with, it helps you progress as a fighter.’

40730_165605580133064_4978483_n

It would take him 2 years before he would have his next fight. Fighting down in Paisley (Scotland) against a local fighter. ‘Felt great to be back and I won by round 4 TKO getting myself back on winning ways.’

‘A few months after that I had my first full rules Muay Thai fight in Thailand up in Chiang Mai fighting out of KC Muay Thai gym. The fight went great and I won by round 2 KO by several elbows to the head resulting in my opponent needing 9 stitches to his head and myself needing 3 stitches to my elbow.’

541557_992090627484551_5843927054951956227_n

Fighting in Thailand vs fighting in the UK

‘In my opinion fighting in Thailand is a lot different to fighting in the UK. When fighting in the UK you know who you’re fighting usually in 1 or 2 months in advance and can find out information about them. For example, his name, how much fights he’s had, what gym he fights out of. Can search on YouTube or Facebook and watch videos of his previous fights and training to get to know his strengths and weaknesses.’

‘In Thailand, you don’t know who your fighting until you turn up at the stadium and see who is standing in front of you.’

The Thai way of life

Fighting in Thailand you do know one thing for sure, the person that your fighting (if he is Thai) has been training Muay Thai from around 5 years old like the most of Thailand’s male population who fight Muay Thai. Training and living with all the Thais in and around the gyms, you get to see first-hand how much Muay Thai means to everyone in Thailand.’

11822670_132566260415513_380896030433989433_n

‘It’s there life…’, continues Pete. ‘Lots of kids will train in the morning before school and after school. Then fight late at nights and go to school the next day. I have been to fights and sat in the back of pick-up trucks for hours to the shows and back with kids as young as 10 who have fought and got their heads cut open and had them stitched at the side of the boxing ring in the dirt, then go to school the next morning. To them it’s nothing, it’s the same as most European kids will play football from as young a age when they can walk. Muay Thai is a main part of Thailand’s history and culture. Everything from the training, the pre-fight ceremonies and rituals. The fighters, the judges, the referees and the gamblers.

Pete explains how gamblers play a big part in the fighting game.

They try to sway and cheer the judges in to direction on the fighter they put money on. ‘The gamblers will bet huge money on fights. The crowd cheer every time a big shots land like kicks and knees and elbows. Sometimes when u watch a fight u will here cheers when nothing seems to land. This will be the gamblers cheering to make it look the fighter they have money on to win is dominating even when he’s not. If you watch a fight on TV with the volume turned down u may think the other fighter will win than if u watch it with the sound on or in a stadium live.’

11934941_1216610701699208_5316457740251379927_n

Is that like with Ramon Dekkers? The Dutch Muay Thai legend who lost a lot of his fights on points when many people believe he should won.

Yeah that’s it exactly. Especially when a Thai fights a foreigner u will usually hear the crowd cheering only when the Thai lands shots.

The Dutch Thai- and kickboxing legend Ramon Dekkers talking about fighting in Thailand. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QY5vw5WRjQY

Fighting once a week
Most Thais who fight Muay Thai will fight hundreds of times. Some fighting more than once in a day or a few times in one week. But usually they will fight once every week or every few weeks or once a month. ‘The way the Thais fight is slightly different to foreigners. Us foreigners will usually fight to win form the first bell and never give up, doing their best to win 100%. The Thais fight Muay Thai for a living, it’s their job and main source of income. So sometimes if they are fighting and it’s a hard fight they may not want to risk getting injured or cut, which may stop them fighting and earning money the next week.’ Pete explains that a lot of times you’ll watch fights in Thailand and that a Thai has given up easily or “taken a dive”. Pete says this is usually due to the fact that he feels that his opponent is better than him so he is basically conceding the fight and admitting defeat. ‘If you go to the big stadiums or big shows you will see it different though. Every Thai will fight 100% to win and that’s usually due to fighting for a title or to be noticed as the best or more usually (as I said earlier about the gamblers), down to money. Lots of big fights have so much money getting bet on the winner that if a fighter wins the fight, he could get 10 times more for winning the fight than he would for losing. This being a huge incentive to win at all costs.’

Pete thinks that a lot of foreign fighters are getting just as good as the Thais at Muay Thai. ‘I think this is mainly down to the fact of them getting to come and live and train in Thailand and train alongside the best Thai boxers in the world. In general foreign fighters are good with their hands due to western boxing being a big influence. Also good with their kicks and knees due to western style kick boxing.’

Kickboxing vs Muay Thai

‘Kickboxing is similar in some ways to Muay Thai, but if you fight Muay Thai you will be sure to remind people that you don’t train “kickboxing”, you train “Muay Thai” . Kickboxing is more of a wider stance and more bouncy on their feet. The Muay Thai stance is almost standing square to your opponents stance and nice and relaxed on your toes getting ready to unleash with both sides of your body equally as fast and strong.’ The Thais main strong points are their elbows and knees and clinching. ‘Clinching is pretty much grappling standing up where you battle with your arms and body for the best position to land shots. This is where lots of foreign fighters will lose fights against Thais due to not training this area enough in training.’

How is it going on with your fighting career?
‘I am currently in Thailand living and training Muay Thai full time just now.

‘I have had 6 full Muay Thai rule fights, 5 wins (4 KO’s) and one loss.

Pete lost the fight for the a stadium championship title in Thapae Stadium Chiang Mai on points. ‘I lost the fight against the champion on points in a hard fought 5 round fight, cutting him with an elbow during the fight but not doing enough to win the belt on points.’ He had to take so time off after that fight as his body was hurt in several places.

1911991_855986094428339_323555904500151436_n

How does fighting help you with everything in your life?

‘Training Muay Thai in my opinion is the best way to keep fit and gain confidence. Also teaches you in self-defence and to show respect for others. Every time I fight I get the best buzz ever, whether you win or lose isn’t important. What’s important is that you know you’ve trained your hardest and you gave it 100%. Obviously you want to win and winning feels much better than losing but I can say that out of my 3 defeats I’ve had, that I fought a good fight and it wasn’t an easy win for my opponents and still got a great buzz after the fight.’

Best performance?

I’m not sure which fight I would say was my best performance. My favourite win would probably be my fourth fight when I fought in Galashiels, Scotland against a tough local fighter who had a really good record at the time and was a brawler wanting to punch my head off. In the first round he came out really fast and strong and caught me with some heavy punches and have me a nice black and blue cut eye. In the third round I landed a beautiful right head kick and knocked him out cold in the ring for around 5 minutes. My worst performance was probably my 6th fight when I took a fight on 4 week’s notice down in London and got injured in training but kept training and fought not my greatest fight. My mum Brenda will never watch any of my fights but she doesn’t mind me fighting as long as am happy. My girlfriend Pa comes to watch me fight but is a bag of nerves watching me. Much the same as I am when I’m watching any of my friends fight. I get really nervous watching my friends fight but never get nervous when I’m fighting myself.

Suggestions?
I suggest anyone reading this to give any martial arts a try. I have been asked lots of times if I want to fights MMA, but for me I’m happy doing Muay Thai. I do like watching MMA and appreciate any form or martial arts as know the time and dedication that it takes to train and compete in martial arts.

How do fights go down in Thailand?

In Thailand the first 2 rounds are usually fought at a light slow pace and are known as “the feeling out rounds”. These are where the fighters get to see their opponents style. Then the 3rd and 4th rounds r the big scoring rounds when both fighters will fight with all they have. If 1 fighter wins both the 3rd and 4th rounds then usually the other fighter will acknowledge it in the 5th and touch gloves and concede defeat.

So most of the time fighters will just fight 2 hard rounds. The 3rd and 4th. This goes back to what I said about saving them from injury and why they can fight every week sometimes.

muay-thai-rules-waikru

Do you have to knock them out to win in Thailand?

‘Yeah they say to win a fight in Thailand you have to knock them out!’

How do you fight?

When I fight I will normally start relaxed in round 1 until my opponent ups the power or tries to land a big elbow or strong kick and then I’ll up the power to. Usually round 1 and 2 I will stay calm and relaxed and then round 3 go for the KO.

Do you still fight or brawl outside of the ring?

‘No, I don’t! Martial Arts has definitely calmed me down. I used to react to people when I was out and end up in fights. Now I will just laugh at someone if they start with me or try to get me angry. I won’t even bother to react of start a fight. Training every day and getting punched and kicked every day, it becomes normal and confrontation isn’t a big deal. So yeah, martial arts relaxed me and calmed me down a 100%.’

11701177_10153166949961939_1784804916100707962_n

How is the sportsmanship in the fighting game?

The sportsmanship in Muay Thai in general is excellent. You go in the ring and during the bells you want to hurt your opponent and want to win. But when the final bell goes you don’t wish anyone to be hurt and you hug and shake hands and have a drink and laugh together.

Pete Scott’s fighting record
So far Pete Scott has gathered a record of 13 fights. 9 wins via ko, one win on points, and 3 losses all by points.

